Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > my scottish ale - to oak or not

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-18-2013, 04:16 PM   #1
scottvin
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 13 Times on 11 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default my scottish ale - to oak or not

I have never used oak before on a recipe but was thinking this was a good recipe to try it on. How much would you use and for how long?

Code:
Scottish Ale

FERMENTABLES:
12 lb - United Kingdom - Maris Otter Pale (90.4%)
0.5 lb - American - Smoked Malt (3.8%)
4.3 oz - American - Chocolate (2%)
0.25 lb - American - Aromatic Malt (1.9%)
0.25 lb - American - Caramel / Crystal 120L (1.9%)

HOPS:
1.75 oz - Kent Goldings for 60 min, Type: Pellet, Use: Boil (AA 5, IBU: 29.87)
0.25 oz - Kent Goldings for 15 min, Type: Pellet, Use: Boil (AA 5, IBU: 2.12)

YEAST:
Fermentis / Safale - Safale - English Ale Yeast S-04

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-18-2013, 04:21 PM   #2
solbes
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 168 Times on 153 Posts
Likes Given: 68

I added less than a half oz of oak cubes soaked in scotch to my Wee Heavy that is in secondary now. I want just a very small hint of that flavor to shine through. They will soak in the beer for about 4 weeks prior to bottling. Wish I could tell you how it tastes, but I haven't tried it yet. Most of these bottles were intended for consumption next winter.

I used 1.25-1.5 oz of cubes to my RIS for 7 weeks last summer. You can easily pick out the flavor from that one, though again it should be pretty tasty by next winter as it fades a bit. I got some nice vanilla notes from the oak on this one.

Note that chips have way more surface area and are less forgiving than cubes with time. Often only a few days - 1 week is needed with chips.

I've kind of gone oak crazy lately. Added some to a red wine. Even added 6 cubes to a 1.75L bottle of agave blanco Tequila