Electric Brewing Supply 30A BCS Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > My beer tastes horrible!

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-25-2010, 10:15 AM   #31
jollytim
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Quote:
Originally Posted by jfr1111 View Post
Did you read my post all the way ? Where did I argue that it wasn't a sanitizer ?
I did... and you did... or at least that's the way I took it. And I was clarifying that because I'm sure I wasn't the only one.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jfr1111 View Post
I have no experience with One-Step, but it's not a considered a sanitizer anymore by the FDA. Take that as you will..

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-25-2010, 10:42 AM   #32
BreckBastion
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by BurntOrngeLonghorn84 View Post
What temperature did you ferment and bottle condition at?
My first thoughts as well. What yeast was this?

Nevermind: i see that you don't know what type of yeast. The website has a review of somebody fermenting at 72 so it's probably an ale yeast. Weird.

Old 11-25-2010, 10:49 AM   #33
Justibone
Recipes 

Liked 21 Times on 20 Posts
Likes Given: 69

Okay, One-Step is not legally a sanitizer, but a lot of people have used it successfully as such. End of that discussion, hmm-kay? *Mr. Garrison Head Tilt*

(The South Park character of Mr. Garrison was based on a real guidance counselor that Trey Parker knew from Junior High... my older brothers knew him, too, and he really did talk that way.)

Let's Sherlock Holmes this dealie-o.

Prior to bottling: tasted fine
After bottle conditioning: tasted like a fungus' nether orifice
After cold conditioning: still slurping fungi

Unquestioned: pre-bottling steps
Questionable: bottle sanitization (due to dishwasher), possible oxidation, yeast strain, beer gremlin attack?
Fact of Note: *all* bottles have been bad