Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Is my Beer Ruined?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-10-2012, 04:03 AM   #1
Grantsmith13
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Likes Given: 3

Default Is my Beer Ruined?

This is my first time brewing, A Scotch Ale, and foolishly switched it to my secondary fermenter after just 5 days? Will my beer be ruined?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-10-2012, 04:25 AM   #2
msujack
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 2

In short, no. It will turn out fine.

Old 12-10-2012, 05:25 AM   #3
HopsMan
Recipes 

Liked 8 Times on 6 Posts

Did you take gravity reading when you racked?

Old 12-10-2012, 12:12 PM   #4
freisste
Recipes 

Liked 294 Times on 245 Posts

My first batch I was so excited I just wanted to do things. So I switched too early as well. In my primitive brewing thought process, I decided that it would be BETTER if I switched to secondary BEFORE it was at FG, thinking it would kick off a little more CO2 and fill the headspace to avoid oxidation. (In hindsight I think it is a sound idea, but the risk of a stuck fermentation or the yeast not fully cleaning up after themselves is worse than the somewhat unlikely event of oxidation in secondary if you are careful.)

My beer was not ruined. In fact, it was absolutely delicious and multiple people said they would mistake it for two hearted ale. Which is nice because that is what I was going for. The biggest issue is I think it has some significant fusel alcohol present. No taste, but it comes with a quick, BAD headache. It's like being hung over halfway through a beer. Hasn't stopped me from drinking the whole thing, though.

After all, I'm not even sure the fusels are a result of he early switch to secondary. I fermented a little warm at first before I had my swamp cooler.