Kegconnection Complete Starter Kit and More Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Muntons beer kit sugar question

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-01-2011, 08:41 PM   #1
rave808
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts

Default Muntons beer kit sugar question

Im a newbie and have a simple question...if i use this beer kit in step one it says add sugar ...what kind of sugar can i use?...corn sugar? also instead of that can I use a dry malt extract and if so which kind do you recommend?

http://www.muntons.com/homebeer/inst...ructions_1.asp

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-02-2011, 12:21 AM   #2
Malticulous
Recipes 

Liked 48 Times on 39 Posts
Likes Given: 47

Light dry malt extract is the best choice. Table sugar will work.

Old 10-02-2011, 02:24 AM   #3
rave808
Recipes 

Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts

whats a good light dry malt extract and would this be better than using corn sugar?

Old 10-02-2011, 02:49 AM   #4
Calder
Recipes 

Liked 239 Times on 214 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Use table sugar if that is what it asks for. I haven't used corn sugar for a couple of years; I think it is a rip-off, and there is no benefit from using it.

Depending on the beer, using malt extract in place of the sugar may improve the beer. malt extract will add more body, and give a 'fuller' beer. It will also add more non-fermentables and result in a higher FG.

It all depends on what the recipe is, beer is, and what you want, but generally. adding extract to basic recipes will be the best direction.

Any light extract will do; use the lightest you can get (Light, Extra light, Pilsner, Pale, etc).

Old 10-02-2011, 02:58 AM   #5
jonmohno
Recipes 

Liked 410 Times on 361 Posts
Likes Given: 1192