The Great Bottle Opener Giveaway

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Mr Beer - Read all about it and ask questions

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-14-2012, 03:21 PM   #3211
Highridin4x4
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brooski44
I recieved the premimum gold edition Mr. Beer kit for Christmas, and started my first batch (American Classic) Blonde Ale, on the 29th of December. I did everything in the instructions to the letter, however, when I went to start the bottling process yesterday, I noticed the brew to be very cloudy with particles in it. Is this normal? Should I continue on with the bottling process or scratch the batch, and start over ?
How long did you ferment it for the instructions say 7 days but from what I have read 14 days is ideal. Also cloudy beer I don't think is a bad thing I think the yeast is still working. But I am no expert yet I have just been reading alot. I would not toss it until you taste it in a few weeks. One thing I did here from a mr.beer podcast was nothing bad can live in the wort because of the alcohol and acid levels (except bad taste). I am sure if I am wrong someone with more experience will chime in and correct me.

Scott

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-14-2012, 04:28 PM   #3212
Justibone
Recipes 

Liked 21 Times on 20 Posts
Likes Given: 69

Quote:
Originally Posted by Highridin4x4 View Post
I would not toss it until you taste it in a few weeks.
NEVER, EVER TOSS YOUR BEER UNTIL IT IS DONE.

If it is fully carbed, and you've cold-conditioned it in the fridge, taste it. Still bad? Cold-condition it a month. Still bad? Put it in the back of the closet for 6 more months. Still bad? You may finally toss it.

Unless you need the bottles, of course. Don't give up on your beer too early!

Old 01-14-2012, 04:42 PM   #3213
firebirdude
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 6