Kegconnection Complete Starter Kit and More Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Mr Beer - Read all about it and ask questions

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-22-2011, 06:57 PM   #3001
thx997303
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justibone View Post
Agreed. Maltiness will be quite sparse.

That being said... it will still probably taste pretty good, and the ABV% will be noticeable.

If you want a malty brew (which isn't really pale-ale style, it's more of a scotch ale or amber thing), then use two cans of extract and no booster next time.
Thanks for the suggestions. I tend to enjoy a good range of flavors in beer, so I'm not too concerned.

I really just didn't want to use just the extract and the booster, seemed like it would have been a bit sparse on flavor.

But of course, I am new at this and am only guessing.

We'll see how she goes.

I was seeing some bubbles forming last night about 2 hours after pitching, and this morning there are patches of white on the top of the brew, which I would assume is what I'm supposed to see, but I don't really know.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-22-2011, 08:06 PM   #3002
Desrever
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 7

Quote:
I was seeing some bubbles forming last night about 2 hours after pitching, and this morning there are patches of white on the top of the brew, which I would assume is what I'm supposed to see, but I don't really know
Sounds pretty good to me.

Quote:
I really just didn't want to use just the extract and the booster, seemed like it would have been a bit sparse on flavor
I'm not so sure your going to get as much flavor out of the honey as you think tho it pretty much just adds to the ABV as it ferments out maybe next time try adding it after the first week if your looking for flavor.

Old 11-22-2011, 08:22 PM   #3003
Justibone
Recipes 

Liked 21 Times on 20 Posts
Likes Given: 69