The Great Bottle Opener Giveaway

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Mr Beer - Read all about it and ask questions

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-30-2008, 12:13 PM   #201
431brew
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Thanks. Then, I think I am going to ferment in the bucket and then siphon over to the MRB keg for bottling, too.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-30-2008, 04:43 PM   #202
arrigo
Recipes 

Ok, just remember that Mr. Beer is not a sealed bottle, Its not good to leave beer in a Mr. Beer keg for longer than 10 - 14. For you, I would ferment it in the bucket for atleast two weeks and then transfer right before bottling. I just bought an ale pale. That is the way to go. I am finally to the point to where I have a carboy and an ale pale. Yea, no more mr. beer. Feel like I graduated from college or something, haha.

Old 01-30-2008, 05:06 PM   #203
ghostofdavid
Recipes 

Location: Formerly Cincinnati, OH; Currently Columbus, IN, Indiana

Why is it bad to leave it in the Mr. Beer for longer than the allotted time?

Old 01-30-2008, 05:25 PM   #204
431brew
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by arrigo
I just bought an ale pale. That is the way to go. I am finally to the point to where I have a carboy and an ale pale. Yea, no more mr. beer. Feel like I graduated from college or something, haha.
Yeah, that is where I am headed. I have made and drank one batch of Mr. Beer, and am fermenting my second now. I have been pricing carboys and buckets this week, so I am not far from graduating either.

I have really enjoyed making the beer more than I have the buzz of drinking it. My problem is that I want to make it quicker than I can drink it!

Old 01-30-2008, 06:01 PM   #205
Fire Me Boy!
Recipes 

Quote:
Originally Posted by 431brew