Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Mr Beer - Read all about it and ask questions

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-06-2010, 03:28 AM   #1701
Tombstone0
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 11 Times on 9 Posts
Likes Given: 1

I've brewed their Hard cider kit. It wasn't bad, but it was kind of light, like most of the beers that use booster. I also tried one of the recipes, I don't remember which one, but it was a bit better.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-06-2010, 07:46 PM   #1702
torbanac
Recipes 

Quote:
Originally Posted by mgr52 View Post
has anyone used the Cider brew kit? I am new to the hobby and am pricing out the cider brew kit. Just wondering what your experiences and any advice you could lend.
I concur with the above poster, I made one of their cider kits and it seemed
light, not very tasty.

I would look at scaling down Ed Wort's Apfelwein to 2 gallons. Its much nicer!

Old 04-06-2010, 09:30 PM   #1703
mgr52
Recipes 

Quote:
Originally Posted by torbanac View Post
I concur with the above poster, I made one of their cider kits and it seemed
light, not very tasty.

I would look at scaling down Ed Wort's Apfelwein to 2 gallons. Its much nicer!

ok great thanks for the tips everyone.

how does the Apfelwein turn out? I have never brewed before obviously so when I think cider, I think of the major brands. Is the taste along the lines of any brand?

would I be able to buy the cider kit and just brew the apfelwein with the kit?

Old 04-07-2010, 06:50 PM   #1704
torbanac
Recipes 

No ,you can't make it from a kit. It's something you make from scratch and use your Mr. Beer equipment to make. Can't be much simpler, apple juice, dextrose and yeast.
If you carb it, it will come out dry like a wine. If you kill the yeast and then add sugar it will be sweeter but will be still (no carbonation). Read all about it here.

http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f25/man-...felwein-14860/