Mr. Beer and Malt Liquor...

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

stat quo

Reaction score
hi. im pretty new to this whole brewing thing and this forum, so please bear with me :eek:

so i just purchased a mr. beer kit a few days ago, and decided to brew this recipe kit i got from their site:
http://store.mrbeer.com/defibbock.html

my question is, is it possible to brew a malt liquor or any high alcohol content beer using the kit and ingredients purchased from the site? if so, what do you reccomend/suggestions?

the one im currently brewing is supposed to reach 7% when its done, but itd like something with as much kick as a bottle of St. Ides, or more, like 8.2% - 10%+ (if possible)

id appreciate comments/suggestions. thanks :cross:

Very few yeasts can live in an ABV over 7%. It is extremely unlikely your kit has one of those yeasts. To get to 10% ABV, you need a wine yeast or a distiller's yeast. To get higher ABV, you also need to increase the amount of fermentables. This can be done by adding malt powder (dry malt extract), liquid malt extract or sugar. Sugar will change the flavor and make a mess of most ales.

Wrap a paper bag around it and set it in a dark smelly alley. Toss it a couple quarters, it'll come around! When its done fermenting, find some cappable 40oz bottles. For the full experience, wrap them in a brown paper bags when it comes time to drink them.

stat quo,

Does the air lock work? Was it with the kit?

The reason I ask is the Mr. Beer keg I have does not have a sealing cap, it as two notches cut in the top of the thread to allow the co2 to expell.
It relies on the co2 blanket to protect the beer from oxygen.

I have a couple for doing half batches when my full size gear is in use.