Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Moving on up...from beginner to intermediate

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-27-2012, 01:33 AM   #11
Epimetheus
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 91 Times on 76 Posts
Likes Given: 53

Congrats on the new kit! Sounds like you are all set for great things.

Quote:
Originally Posted by RM-MN View Post
drop in a paint strainet bag and dump in your 12 pounds of mixed crushed grains
I am also a newbie, have done only 3 BIAB, and read much about it. A 5 gallon paint strainer bag may be too small for 12 lbs. You can do it and it will be beer. I used a 5 gal strainer on a 6 lb grain bill. The grain was packed tightly and the efficiency suffered. (My first batch. A little low on the ABV, but damn, it smells and tastes wonderful.)

Experienced BIABaggers (I have read) mention the grain should have lots of room to swim around and the bag should be large enough to fit around your kettle. I sewed a larger bag from a voile curtain. You can search the forums for online sources.

Add your water analysis to the water report map! Instructions on this thread

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-27-2012, 01:38 AM   #12
jburke1987
Recipes 

hey everyone, i have been using Brewers Best kits for a while, and want to try brewing a light beer from scratch. i normally drink American light (coors light, miller lite, bud light) want to try all grain next.

Trying to stay away from the kits and do this stuff for real. is there anyone that i can chat with around Pittsburgh Area that can help? let me know.

i would like to make another brew in the next month.

Old 12-27-2012, 10:43 AM   #13
RM-MN
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 713 Times on 599 Posts
Likes Given: 226

Quote:
Originally Posted by Epimetheus View Post
Congrats on the new kit! Sounds like you are all set for great things.