Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway - Enter Now!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Moldy Equipment

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-21-2010, 08:34 PM   #1
atlphenom
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Moldy Equipment

So I'm very new to this, and I know this is terrible, but after my first batch of beer I was negligent and forgot to clean out my equipment right away. When I went back later to clean it out, I had mold growing in my fermentation and bottling buckets. I immediately rinsed them out, but now I'm not sure if I can use them for brewing again or if I need to buy a whole new kit. I was hoping to start another batch, so I've filled them with a bleach/water mix and am letting them sit. I was wondering A: can I still use them and B: If so, how should I go about cleaning them after the bleaching?

Thanks

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-21-2010, 08:42 PM   #2
Hopheader
Recipes 

Mmm... (more of a 'hmm' than an 'mmm good')
Can you afford to get new buckets?

Some would say "bleach kills everything" (in proper concentrations). And "you should be good to go" with proper soaking, cleaning, and rinnnnnnnnnnsing time. Potential problem I see is that if you are scrubbing hard to really clean everything, you could be leeching the chlorine into the plastic, and exposing this to your beer, creating chlorophenols and phenolic off-flavours.

If it was your first use, it is a shame to get rid of stuff but I'd say to be completely worry-free, get new buckets. But...yes...that's double the cost.

So the other hand says to let them soak for a few days, and use a proper cleaning solution and a rag (something soft) and rinse the HECK out of the buckets and try an inexpensive beer kit (a lighter beer, something that will definitely show off flavours if there are any). If you would rather spend money on the kit and your time involved.