Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Winners Re-Re-Re-Drawn - 24 hours to Claim!

Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Midwest Irish Red fermintation?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-29-2012, 01:38 AM   #1
Eamster
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 7 Times on 7 Posts

Default Midwest Irish Red fermintation?

Since I am new to brewing I have a quick question. I am brewing the Irish Red from Midwest and it only has shown signs of fermentation in airlock for 1.5 days. Is this common?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-29-2012, 02:37 AM   #2
CarboyBoy
Recipes 

Liked 5 Times on 4 Posts

Welcome to the hobby! My first was their Autumn Amber, and it was delicious.

Airlock activity is an unreliable indication of the start and end of fermentation. Many people around here including me will tell you not to worry about it, and take a gravity reading after a couple weeks. If you have two identical readings within three days, fermentation is complete, and you can move on to the next step in your process.

Old 07-29-2012, 04:47 AM   #3
mcbrown
Recipes 

I'll be brewing up the same Red Ale from Midwest very soon...I hope in the next week. I'll keep an eye on this post for sure, as well as maybe we can share our results. This will be my first batch ever as well.

Cheers!

Old 08-07-2012, 12:08 AM   #4
Eamster
Recipes 

Liked 7 Times on 7 Posts

Here some pics of the current brew. The FG ended up being 1.016. I was hoping for lower but I will take what I can get. My wort temp may have been a bit to high at pitching. Let me know what you think. Since I am new to this let me know if this looks normal : ) hopefully so.

image-577785064.jpg   image-1454098698.jpg  

Old 08-07-2012, 12:50 AM   #5
robertus
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 14 Times on 10 Posts
Likes Given: 16

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eamster View Post