Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Making my Dry Irish Stout kit a little more stout

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-13-2010, 02:52 PM   #1
Testament
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Making my Dry Irish Stout kit a little more stout

Hello all,

I am new to brewing and just started over a little a month ago. I have since become addicted and love reading and learning all there is to know about home brewing.

I am about to brew my second beer which is a dry irish stout that contains the following:

1lbs Simpsons Roasted Barley
6lbs Gold Malt Syrup
2 oz cluster hops
Safale S-04 Ale Yeast

My question is this. I have 3 lbs of Muton's Dry LME, and 3 lbs of Muton's Dark DME. Is there anyway I could add a pound or 2 of one of these to make it more harty without ruining the flavor of this recipe? A friend of mine gave me these, so I want to use them sooner or later, but like I said, I don't want to sacrifice the flavor of the beer to just increase the gravity.

Also, Is there any issue with leaving the hops in the fermentor and not straining it?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-13-2010, 03:23 PM   #2
frazier
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Recipes 

Liked 92 Times on 83 Posts
Likes Given: 7

Every pound of DME you add will boost the ABV by a little under 1%. So, your initial recipe, which by eyeball looks to be about 4.5% alcohol, will jump to 5.4% with an additonal pound of DME.

Can you do this? Yes, you can. Should you? I dunno - personally, I'm not a fan of boosting recipes this way (although I definitely understand the temptation!). My preference would be to find a recipe with the type of "stoutiness" you want, and make that. That way, you have a tried-and-true recipe where the malts and hops are balanced for the ABV you end up with.

But hey, it's your beer - this is why we brew!

~
"Anything worth doing, is worth doing slowly." ~~ Mae West

Old 12-13-2010, 03:26 PM   #3