Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Making liqueurs?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-17-2011, 10:59 PM   #1
renshaw
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Making liqueurs?

I searched on Google and on here and couldn't much information on thsi subject,
I was wondering how hard it would be to make something around 20 - 23 percent (so not distilling) that resembled fruit based liqueurs.

(A Guess)
Is it simply, Water sugar + super yeast then flavours?
How do you create the density of the liquid etc.

Thanks.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-17-2011, 11:03 PM   #2
leviticus
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

I would suggest maltodextrin for changing the viscosity and adding the texture that liqueurs usually have.

I'm curious though if yeast would be able to get ABV up to 23% without side effects/much difficulty. I have little to no knowledge of this aspect of your experiment though.

Old 06-17-2011, 11:05 PM   #3
renshaw
Recipes 

Quote:
Originally Posted by leviticus View Post
I would suggest maltodextrin for changing the viscosity and adding the texture that liqueurs usually have.

I'm curious though if yeast would be able to get ABV up to 23% without side effects/much difficulty. I have little to no knowledge of this aspect of your experiment though.
All i seen was 23% on a packet of yeast called "super yeast"
So i was wondering the same as you!

I've used a maltodextrin supplement for energy at the gym!

Old 06-17-2011, 11:11 PM   #4
cuttsjp
Recipes 

Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 1