Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Making beer and other alcohols with very simple ingredients

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-25-2011, 08:55 AM   #1
balibrew
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Making beer and other alcohols with very simple ingredients

Hey guys,

Great forum here, so much information to be had. I'm a beginner, only got 2 brews under my belt (ginger beer) but have been having a lot of fun. My main problem is the place where I currently reside (Bali) doesn't have many resources for brewing. Shipping in items through the mail is also very difficult.

I don't have access to hops, brewers yeast or any of those other luxuries. My ginger that I have made twice so far consisted of half a kilo of ginger, 6 kilos of sugar, a bit of lemongrass and lime juice as well as bakers yeast. The 6 kilos of sugar made it extremely strong, well over 10% I would guess, but no complaints there.

Anyways, even though I like my ginger beer recipe (but would be open to hearing improvements on it) I was wondering if anyone has any ideas for some other recipes that could be made without special brewers yeast or hops. I'd like to try a whole bunch of different recipes as I just got my hands on a bottle capper.

Thanks

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-25-2011, 11:59 AM   #2
el_caro
Recipes 

Liked 33 Times on 28 Posts
Likes Given: 8

Get some dry yeast sent in and then brew cider using long life apple juice. I am sure it will beat that hooch you are brewing at the moment.

Old 11-25-2011, 12:15 PM   #3
bomberman
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 9