Home Brew Forums

Home Brew Forums (http://www.homebrewtalk.com/forum.php)
-   Beginners Beer Brewing Forum (http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f39/)
-   -   looking for opinions on these 2 Equipment kits (http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f39/looking-opinions-these-2-equipment-kits-352222/)

Manny_E 09-04-2012 11:54 PM

looking for opinions on these 2 Equipment kits
 
1st from Williams Brewing
http://www.williamsbrewing.com/COMPL...BLE-P2351.aspx

2nd from Home Brewing
http://www.homebrewing.org/Beginning...-3_p_1706.html

thx
Manny

el_horno 09-05-2012 12:04 AM

Id go for the 2nd kit. I like that it also comes with a 5 gallon glass carboy.

kh54s10 09-05-2012 12:04 AM

It is difficult to know what is in the Williams kit. They don't have a list like the Adventure In HomeBrewing one.

Another one to look at is The Northern Brewer Deluxe kit. You will have to add the pot and a wort chiller but it is the one I started with.

I, personally, would opt for Better Bottles or buckets. No glass carboys for me. They are too heavy and way to dangerous. Read the threads about injuries caused by broken carboys.

boscobeans 09-05-2012 12:14 AM

#1

10 gallon pot with spigot is a real plus.

I have 2 carboys that I never use. Buckets work for for me and the fermenter that comes with #1 sounds like another plus.


bosco

Manny_E 09-05-2012 12:53 AM

thx very much for your input...

Question: are there benefits using a buckets vs. plastic carboy (i.e. PET or Better Bottles) as primary fermentation vessel?

agcorry00 09-05-2012 01:03 AM

Buckets are easier to wash (and are cheaper), but you don't get to see the fermentation very well.

MMJfan 09-05-2012 01:11 AM

Buckets are easier to dry hop as well.

ThePonchoKid 09-05-2012 01:20 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Manny_E (Post 4387094)
thx very much for your input...

Question: are there benefits using a buckets vs. plastic carboy (i.e. PET or Better Bottles) as primary fermentation vessel?

i use a bucket with a spigot, and every time i xfer to keg i unscrew and thoroughly clean the spigot along with the bucket.

i love the ease of use and i have no worries of contamination seeing as im constantly taking apart and cleaning the spigot. i'll never do a secondary (other than keg) and if i ever bottle i'll find or make a gun :) love the ease of use

kh54s10 09-05-2012 01:23 AM

Buckets are easy to use for dry hop or other additions, they stack for storage and don't cost much.

They don't let you see inside easily.
The lid can be a PITA to put on and take off. The seal may leak leading to "no fermentation" threads.

I find Better Bottles just as easy and maybe even easier to clean. I fill with Oxyclean solution to soak. Rinse well, insert a washcloth and swirl it around, remove and rinse it again, Done.

billf2112 09-05-2012 11:42 AM

What size pot is in the Wiliams kit? But just looking at the picture it has a spicket and looks atleast 8, the wort chiller is awesome. Plus it looks like it has a better bottle carboy in the bucket. I would go with the Williams. I do not want a glass carboy and 5 gallon one is about wirthless to me.


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:41 PM.

Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.