The Great Bottle Opener Giveaway

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Longest time with green beer taste?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-24-2009, 12:30 AM   #1
Ed_
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Likes Given: 1

Default Longest time with green beer taste?

I all,

I'm not asking this from being worried standpoint since I have definitely become a believer in time heals all beers (well most beers...I don't think any amount of time will ever help a Budweiser ), but since I'm still pretty new to brewing I'm a bit curious as to what the longest you guys have had a batch keep that college pilsner keg that was pump tapped 3 days ago taste?

Any good references you can give should help out with keeping me from regularly raiding my batches to check on what ends up being only moderate improvement

6.5 gal Primary 1: empty
6.5 gal Primary 2: empty
5 gal Secondary 1: Amarillo Pale Ale
5 gal Secondary 2: empty

On Tap
Keg 1: American Lagar
Keg 2:
Keg 3:
Keg 4:

On Deck:
Black Hole of Calcutta IPA v4

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-24-2009, 06:56 AM   #2
ifishsum
Recipes 

Liked 7 Times on 7 Posts

It can really depend on the beer - bigger and/or darker beers often take a little longer to mellow, but most of the stuff I've made so far is great within 7-8 weeks from brew day. My first really dark strong one is conditioning now and I expect it to take a little longer to come into it's own but we'll see.

Primary 2: Edwort's Robust Porter
Secondary 1: LW Pale Ale
Secondary 1: Blackened Soul RIS
Kegged: Dead Guy Ale
Kegged: Rye Pale Ale
Kegged: Haus Pale Ale
Kegged: Nut Brown Ale
Kegged: Afrikan Amber
Kegged: Jock Scott Ale
Kegged: Afrikan Amber

Old 01-24-2009, 07:02 AM   #3
RayInUT
Recipes 

Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts

I thought this was a St. Patrick's Day post. Pour me another!

Old 01-31-2009, 01:37 AM   #4
Jolly McStanson
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts