Electric Brewing Supply 30A BCS Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Lemongrass Secondary Addition?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-14-2013, 09:58 PM   #1
tdp11182
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Lemongrass Secondary Addition?

One of my favorite beers is Magic Hat's Circus Boy - simple hefeweizen with lemongrass.

I have never tried using lemongrass (being a chef I love cooking with it at least) - read up a lot about adding at end of boil and then in the secondary but so many different ways ie: boiling, chopping, blending, whole stalks etc... and I'm just looking about how I should go about doing this. I was planning on only secondary but wasn't sure about how to add.

Any help is appreciated!

Thanks!

Tim

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-14-2013, 10:13 PM   #2
Bithead
Recipes 

Liked 35 Times on 29 Posts
Likes Given: 81

I did a butternut lemongrass blond back in the fall. Didn't want to be bothered preparing fresh and I understand you can get vegetal flavors using too much and too long in the secondary. I used dried, about 3 grams at the end of the boil and 3 grams dry grass for 7 days. I thought dried spices and the like were more potent than fresh. Couldn't really find the lemongrass.

"...allowing the beer to become what it is." -- Jason Yester, Trinity Brewing Co.

Old 02-14-2013, 10:25 PM   #3
beergolf
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 386 Times on 315 Posts
Likes Given: 121

I did a lemongrass/ ginger saison. I added it at 10 minutes. I used 2 stalks finely chopped in a hop bag. I got very slight lemon flavor so if I was going to do it again i probably would use 4 stalks. Of course it all depends on just how fresh the lemongrass is.

I add spices to my beers like how I cook. If the flavor is too strong then it is too much. It is best to err on the side of too little rather than too much.