Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > left steeping grains in too long?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-04-2012, 03:13 AM   #1
kepling5001
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 10

Default left steeping grains in too long?

Long story short I made my first beer kit yesterday that was a kit for an stout. The directions (I know I shouldn't have even looked at them) said to put the steeping grains that came with the kit into a Muslim bag and keep it in until right before the boil...so I did that. I finished the boil, cooled it down, pitched the yeast, took a reading with the hydrometer and was pretty much right on (1.055). The beer is now bubbling happily in my swamp cooler at around a steady 65 degrees. I am no expert but the smell does smell a little bitter maybe dry?.. but I'm guessing this is the hops I added right at boil and more I added at 55 mins into the 60 min boil. I read that you aren't supposed to steep those grains over 170...so I guess my question is how bad is my beer going to turn out? Thanks guys for any help

Realized this actually wasn't that short lol oh well

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-04-2012, 03:17 AM   #2
menerdari
Recipes 

Liked 42 Times on 39 Posts
Likes Given: 16

Time will tell, but being as it is in a stout you may not be able to tell.

Old 10-04-2012, 03:20 AM   #3
kylevester
Recipes 

Liked 15 Times on 12 Posts
Likes Given: 7

Wait, the directions said to put your grains in and heat the water and then take them out right before the boil? Are you sure? If so, never buy from them again.

You probably pulled out a lot of tannins and will have a very roasty and likely bitter stout. The bitterness will be from the grains if you heated them up all the way to 200+ deg.

Could you post the whole recipe?

Old 10-04-2012, 03:22 AM   #4
Cheepbeer
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 66