Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > lager frementation schedule and temp

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-08-2013, 02:24 PM   #1
allanyork
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default lager frementation schedule and temp

I am new to making beer. Do i bought a generic beer starter kit, and a Festa blonde lager kit. From all the reading ive been doing I understand that the instructions that come with the kit are not the best. So I was wondering what you guys thought about the temperature and the length of fermentation. I have access to a room with a temp of 15 degrees C. The yeast used is s-23 from fermentix. What's your thoughts?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-08-2013, 03:21 PM   #2
emmdubb23
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 20 Times on 18 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by allanyork View Post
I am new to making beer. Do i bought a generic beer starter kit, and a Festa blonde lager kit. From all the reading ive been doing I understand that the instructions that come with the kit are not the best. So I was wondering what you guys thought about the temperature and the length of fermentation. I have access to a room with a temp of 15 degrees C. The yeast used is s-23 from fermentix. What's your thoughts?
If you have not already, Google John Palmer How to Brew. It is a book that has been published online. Great start for all your questions. I would not have started with a Lager myself.

Old 01-08-2013, 03:36 PM   #3
allanyork
Recipes 

Yeah, its a lot more difficult to brew lager from what I understand. And it takes longer. But my favorite beer is colson canadian and im trying to brew something similair. Any ideas anyone? Should i pitch the yeast in the primary for acouple hours then put the primary in 15 degrees for 3 weeks? Then transfer to final for another 3 weeks? Unfortunatly I cant lower the temperature more then that

Old 01-08-2013, 04:25 PM   #4
Pie_Man