Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Lactose how much is too much?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-07-2011, 08:24 PM   #1
fiestygoat
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Lactose how much is too much?

So I have never used lactose before and i was wondering, really, how much is too much?
My plan is to use it in a milk stout and since the idea i have is a little off the wall im thinking of only doing a one to two gallon batch.
I read an article a little whiles ago that a good rule of thumb is one pound for every 2 gallons however, a lot of receipes i have seen only ask for a pound. I guess I would like input from other people that have used it.

How much can I use before it starts to ruin the beer?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-07-2011, 09:23 PM   #2
Toga
Recipes 

Liked 43 Times on 38 Posts
Likes Given: 4

one pound for every two gallons will completely ruin your beer.

From what I found when researching the style was the average was a pound per 5 gallons. So I found a solid left hand milk stout clone, made a few adjustments and brewed it. I added a pound of lactose during the last 10 minutes of the boil. The beer turned out way too sweet and the mouthfeel was a little funky. If I were to brew it again I would cut the lactose in half. Taste it before bottling then and only if needed add no more than an additional quarter pound to my 5 gallon batch.

If you are only doing a 1 gallon batch I would keep it to 1.75oz. then taste it before bottling. You can always add another half ounce at bottling if you want it to be a bit sweeter.

Old 12-07-2011, 09:41 PM   #3
david_42

Recipes 

Liked 139 Times on 132 Posts

Make a two gallon batch and split it. Add 1.5 oz to one gallon and 3 to the other. Bottle and compare. Personally, I find 8 oz in five gallons plenty.