Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Know of any brew kits with wort chiller under $200?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-28-2010, 02:30 PM   #1
wolfgre
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Know of any brew kits with wort chiller under $200?

I am new to HBT and this is my first post! I am wondering if there any brew kits with a wort chiller for around $200.

So far my favorite kit is the Northern Brewer Deluxe Starter Kit w/ glass carboys for $166.99. I think this is a good kit because it comes with 2 glass carboys. Are there any better kits out there for the price? I am interested in 2stage fermentation.

Any info would be great for a new home brewer.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-28-2010, 02:34 PM   #2
Mirilis
Lvl 10 Beer Nerd
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 17 Times on 16 Posts
Likes Given: 1

This ones over the budget but it also includes an 8 gallon kettle with valve so you can do full volume boils.

http://morebeer.com/view_product/159...g_Super_Deluxe

Or you could order a kit like this:
http://morebeer.com/view_product/159..._%232_-_Deluxe

and add a wort chiller for $60-$70.. ( you could always make your own for cheaper if wanted, search for the build threads on this forum )

Old 07-28-2010, 02:40 PM   #3
wolfgre
Recipes 

I think those kits are just average with the plastic carboys. But thanks for the feedback.

Old 07-28-2010, 02:45 PM   #4
weirdboy
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 4 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 428 Times on 349 Posts
Likes Given: 60

I feel glass carboys are overrated. Buckets work just as well and are cheaper, easier to use, and easy to clean.

At the very least, if you get glass carboys make sure you get a carboy carrier that fits them, or else you are likely to hurt either yourself or your beer.