Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > keeping a log?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-04-2008, 03:29 PM   #1
hexmonkey
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 9 Times on 8 Posts

Default keeping a log?

I'm just starting out, and I'd like to keep logs to know what I did if things go well, but also to help when they go not so well. Do you keep logs? What are the things you log, and why? Was there ever a time that it really came in handy?

Also, just out of curiosity, where do you keep your logs? Notebook? Three-ring binder? Store-bought logbook like from basicbrewing.com? The computer?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-04-2008, 03:38 PM   #2
Yooper
Ale's What Cures You!
HBT_ADMIN.png

Recipes 

Liked 4342 Times on 3157 Posts
Likes Given: 845

I've always kept a folder with the recipes and notes and noted what I did. I used to do it on my computer but found that it was more convenient to keep the folder handy. I then grab it when I check the sg of a wine, or add something like oak to a wine. The dates and results are written in. It's not really a log though- I should get more organized than I am. The beer recipes I've done more than once have had alot less notes and a year later I'm scratching my head trying to remember what I did differently. I need to get better at taking those notes!

Old 01-04-2008, 03:40 PM   #3
Soulive

Recipes 

Liked 7 Times on 7 Posts

Keeping a log is a very good habit. I keep all my notes in Beersmith. It has a free trial but its definitely worth buying for life...

www.beersmith.com

===================
Green Lane Brewing
===================

Primary = Evan!'s Special Bitter
On Deck = EdWort's Porter / American Amber

EdWort's Haus Pale Ale Count

Old 01-04-2008, 03:41 PM   #4
bigjohnmilford
bigger than most
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 66 Times on 40 Posts
Likes Given: 111