Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Just a couple of qustions

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-07-2007, 10:08 PM   #1
sublimebrew
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Just a couple of qustions

Hello all... I'm new to all this and I have a couple qustions, so please bare with me....Just brewed last night I ran into just a few snags like my funnel fliter kept clogging. I used a auto siphion & a reverse flow chiller. The clip on the hose kept clogging also, so I took it off & used a friend to pinch the hose as needed. Is this common??? Also my kettle took forever heat up to a boil (about a hour) on an electric stove. I did keep the extract stired up so I didn't burn it to the pan. Is that to long for the extract to get to a boil or will it be OK??? Thanks for the advice eveyone.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-07-2007, 10:30 PM   #2
Evan!

Recipes 

Liked 70 Times on 62 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Quote:
Originally Posted by sublimebrew
Hello all... I'm new to all this and I have a couple qustions, so please bare with me....Just brewed last night I ran into just a few snags like my funnel fliter kept clogging. I used a auto siphion & a reverse flow chiller. The clip on the hose kept clogging also, so I took it off & used a friend to pinch the hose as needed. Is this common??? Also my kettle took forever heat up to a boil (about a hour) on an electric stove. I did keep the extract stired up so I didn't burn it to the pan. Is that to long for the extract to get to a boil or will it be OK??? Thanks for the advice eveyone.
First off, you can use a sanitized butter knife, etc., to continually scrape the funnel screen/stir the liquid, thus keeping the flow going.