*Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway - Enter Now!*

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Johnson controls question...
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-27-2012, 04:28 AM   #1
klay23
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Myrtle Beach, SC
Posts: 120
Default Johnson controls question...

I searched but found older versions and old threads.

I have the a19aat.

Is it as simple as plugging the power cord of the fridge into corc of temp controller and somehow getting temperature probe in the fridge? Then mounting the actual controller somewhere outside of he fridge on a flat surface? Instructions are waaaay more complex than that, but now I'm questioning if I'm wrong and simply NOT a hvac person,

Help?...

__________________
klay23 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-27-2012, 04:34 AM   #2
dutchoven
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
dutchoven's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: SF Bay Area, California
Posts: 630
Liked 8 Times on 8 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

Yup, that's it.

__________________
dutchoven is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-27-2012, 04:34 AM   #3
2stupid
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: peshastin, wa
Posts: 56
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 8

Default

edit: removed intoxicated posting about johnsons. good beer.

__________________

Last edited by 2stupid; 01-27-2012 at 04:38 AM.
2stupid is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-27-2012, 04:38 AM   #4
klay23
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Myrtle Beach, SC
Posts: 120
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2stupid View Post
sorry, no help from me. my johnson only has an on/off switch.

i couldn't resist


Lol, very nice

__________________
klay23 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-27-2012, 04:40 AM   #5
klay23
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Myrtle Beach, SC
Posts: 120
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dutchoven View Post
Yup, that's it.
So I must assume they did they wiring for me now, as apposed to the older versions you had to do it yourself?
__________________
klay23 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-27-2012, 04:40 AM   #6
klay23
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Myrtle Beach, SC
Posts: 120
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2stupid View Post
edit: removed intoxicated posting about johnsons. good beer.
Too late... I gotcha

__________________
klay23 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-27-2012, 04:41 AM   #7
klay23
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Myrtle Beach, SC
Posts: 120
Default

Everyone still using the drain plug to run the probe into fridge?

__________________
klay23 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-27-2012, 04:42 AM   #8
Krane
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 138
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default

It is just that simple. I even stuck the probe in through the door and the seal goes right around the wire/cord no problem. I would attempt to see if it is accurate though. I have read that sometimes the setting on the controller/actual temperature can vary quite a bit. Luckily mine is accurate so I don't have to worry about it. I just put in a carboy of water, taped the probe to it with some packing material for insulation and waited a day or two to calibrate/check the accuracy.

__________________
Krane is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-27-2012, 04:45 AM   #9
Daybis
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Columbus, MS
Posts: 628
Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

Should be plug and play. I drilled a hole through the side of my fridge so I could run my probe inside. I would also recommend taping the probe to your fermenters when they are in the fridge.

__________________

Ontap: Hard Cider
Primary: IIPA, All-Tythos IPA
On Deck: Munich Dunkel, Classic Rauch, Breakfast Porter, American Stout

Daybis is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-27-2012, 04:46 AM   #10
klay23
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Myrtle Beach, SC
Posts: 120
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Krane View Post
It is just that simple. I even stuck the probe in through the door and the seal goes right around the wire/cord no problem. I would attempt to see if it is accurate though. I have read that sometimes the setting on the controller/actual temperature can vary quite a bit. Luckily mine is accurate so I don't have to worry about it. I just put in a carboy of water, taped the probe to it with some packing material for insulation and waited a day or two to calibrate/check the accuracy.
So it just cuts fridge on and off to maintain temp? Seems a lot simpler than the instructions that are dated 2004!
__________________
klay23 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply



Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Johnson Temp Controller flabyboy Beginners Beer Brewing Forum 14 06-09-2011 05:47 PM
Johnson Controller question kgraber Beginners Beer Brewing Forum 14 04-20-2011 12:52 AM
Johnson temp contol question metaltim Beginners Beer Brewing Forum 12 08-06-2009 12:03 AM
No Temp Controls - Options? cyclonebeer Beginners Beer Brewing Forum 2 11-19-2008 12:35 AM
What controls the alcohol % DerekPruder Beginners Beer Brewing Forum 9 09-05-2007 03:45 PM