Kegconnection Complete Starter Kit and More Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Increase ABV

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-30-2011, 06:18 AM   #1
captflyer
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Increase ABV

I'm new to homebrewing so please ignore my ignorance. I'll be making the all grain version of "Moose Drool" over the next few days. I'm using the recipe out of "Clone Brew" book.

the ABV in the recipe is 5.3%. How can I, or what do I need to add to increase the alcohol by volume.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-30-2011, 06:35 AM   #2
LVBen
Recipes 

Liked 18 Times on 18 Posts
Likes Given: 52

Quote:
Originally Posted by captflyer View Post
I'm new to homebrewing so please ignore my ignorance. I'll be making the all grain version of "Moose Drool" over the next few days. I'm using the recipe out of "Clone Brew" book.

the ABV in the recipe is 5.3%. How can I, or what do I need to add to increase the alcohol by volume.
Add sugar... sucrose, maltose, dextrose, etc.

Old 09-30-2011, 12:17 PM   #3
ajdelange
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Recipes 

Liked 537 Times on 440 Posts
Likes Given: 15

Increase extract. Use more malt and/or boil longer to concentrate the extract from the malt you have. This is the best way to increase ABV as you maintain balance. If all you are after is alcohol (the beer will be thin, dry, lack mouthfeel and malt character) then convert at low temperature (145 °F) so the extract is highly fermentable, supplement with sugars, honey etc. and use a highly attenuative yeast strain.

Old 09-30-2011, 12:37 PM   #4
beergolf
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 358 Times on 294 Posts
Likes Given: 109

You can add more fermentables to increase the ABV, but it may throw the taste out of balance. A good beer is all about balance of flavors, not just higher ABV.