Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > If I modified the boil volume what will that effect

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-21-2014, 08:33 PM   #1
Erockg13
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default If I modified the boil volume what will that effect

Hi I'm a home brewing beginner and I have a question. I've been looking at recipes and some are wanting the pre boil volume to be 4 1/2 gallons and some call for 2, 3, etc. now I have a brew kettle that is 20 QTs so doing anything over 3 gallons is asking for trouble. I was wondering what the harm if any would be if I were to just do the same recipe with the modified boil volume adding water to a 2 gallon recipe to make it 3 and also subtracting from a recipe that calls for a 4 1/2 boil volume to 3 gallons. I'm brewing 5 gallon batches.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-21-2014, 08:46 PM   #2
Yooper
Ale's What Cures You!
HBT_ADMIN.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 4942 Times on 3579 Posts
Likes Given: 999

Quote:
Originally Posted by Erockg13 View Post
Hi I'm a home brewing beginner and I have a question. I've been looking at recipes and some are wanting the pre boil volume to be 4 1/2 gallons and some call for 2, 3, etc. now I have a brew kettle that is 20 QTs so doing anything over 3 gallons is asking for trouble. I was wondering what the harm if any would be if I were to just do the same recipe with the modified boil volume adding water to a 2 gallon recipe to make it 3 and also subtracting from a recipe that calls for a 4 1/2 boil volume to 3 gallons. I'm brewing 5 gallon batches.
Yes, you can do that. There are some issues with reducing the boil size, but nothing insurmountable.