New Giveaway - Wort Monster Conical Fermenter!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > I think I messed up...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-09-2010, 04:36 PM   #1
tojo
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 7 Times on 5 Posts

Default I think I messed up...

Well I am new to homebrewing and did my first batch last week with the help of a friend who is already doing his own brews. I wanted to get one done on my own so I purchased a NB Winter Warmer to try out.

Well all went well in the beginning. I followed the instructions and then.......I got a bit ahead of myself. After steeping the grains, I immediately added the liquid malt before coming to a boil. My question to you all did this newbie screw the pooch on this one? Will I end up getting some awful swill because the malt will burn?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-09-2010, 04:41 PM   #2
floyd242
Recipes 

As long as you stirred it up good and it didn't scorch the bottom of your pot you should be fine. It's a good idea to take the pot off the heat while you add the extract and stir it, then bring it back to a boil so you don't get any scorching.

Old 12-09-2010, 04:45 PM   #3
frazier
Recipes 

Liked 73 Times on 70 Posts
Likes Given: 5

No worries, you're fine. In the future, turn the flame off as you stir the extract in. This will avoid scorching. Then bump the flame and bring to a boil.

At worst, you have some dark marks on the bottom of your kettle. But you still have beer.

~
"Anything worth doing, is worth doing slowly." ~~ Mae West

Old 12-09-2010, 04:46 PM   #4
Docjowles
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Yeah it will be fine. Probably darker and with a SMALL amount of flavor somewhere between brown sugar and burned sugar but nothing to worry about.

RDWHAHB etc.

Old 12-09-2010, 04:57 PM   #5
trevorc13
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 4