Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > I love the smell of an airlock in the morning...

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-31-2012, 03:08 PM   #1
Dubya
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default I love the smell of an airlock in the morning...

Smells like victory (so far anyway).

Greetings guys and gals (sorry for the long post),

I'm a noob who just brewed his first batch yesterday. After some encouragement from a couple fellow hop heads at work over the last six months, I finally decided to dive into this wonderfully crazy hobby (and yes...obsession).

I bought "How to Brew" and "Homebrewing for Dummies" and started lurking on this sight (along with all the major supplier websites) about a month before I even received my brew kit (from my wife this Christmas). I was obsessed (and enlightened by all of you) before I even got my feet/brew kettle wet!

After reading/re-reading and highlighting the instructions, and making separate notes for reference to keep me on track, I kicked off my first batch at 11:00 yesterday. As a way of paying homage to my first "favorite" craft beer, I selected AHS's Moose Drool clone to be my first. Everything seemed to come off without a hitch (thanks to being somewhat OCD, making notes, carefully regulating my temps, watching the timer closely, and just being organized and prepared). After everything was said and done, my OG came in at 1.050 (target being 1.052) and my batch was sitting in a cool dark closet, I kept looking at it...finally I was in the game! It was a fun and rewarding day.