Kegconnection Complete Starter Kit and More Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Hydrometer and Thermometer

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-07-2012, 04:19 PM   #1
Roflsaurus
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Recipes 

Likes Given: 1

Default Hydrometer and Thermometer

i am needing to purchase a hydrometer (or refractometer?) and i was wondering what people recommend? does it need to have built in thermometer?

also, along this same idea, i am needing a thermometer to monitor my brew kettle temps? should i just go ahead and do a weldless therm install into my kettle? should i buy one of the digital quick reads? get the cheapo kind that clips to the top of my kettle?

trying to make sure i purchase the right stuff the first time

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-07-2012, 04:24 PM   #2
jaytizzle
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 12 Times on 12 Posts
Likes Given: 8

Nothing to add as I'm a newb myself but I've often wondered how well the infrared thermos would work for home brewing??? Maybe one of our more experienced folks have some input on this subject as well

Old 03-07-2012, 05:10 PM   #3
WooHokie
Recipes 

I bought a $7 laboratory thermometer at my LHBS. As a fellow noob, I wouldn't mess with anything too complicated right now, that's why the $7 thermo hit the spot for me.

For the hydrometer, I could be wrong but I would think you'd want something separate from the thermometer since you will have your hydrometer floating in some wort at some point during brewday. You don't want to have to clean it off and put it back into your pot.

Old 03-07-2012, 05:43 PM   #4
Trokair
Recipes 

Liked 6 Times on 6 Posts
Likes Given: 5