Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Hydrometer 1.020. Is it ready?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-27-2014, 12:08 AM   #1
DxS12
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 21

Default Hydrometer 1.020. Is it ready?

Hi Homebrewers,

So I've been working on my first batch of Irish Red Ale. It's my first time brewing and I've already learned a ton just hanging out on these forums. So, as a newb, I didn't have a hydrometer on hand to take a reading when I brewed my first batch. I'm now 11 days into the brew and the hydrometer reads 1.020. It's still in the primary (not moving it to secondary). This is my first reading, so I plan to come back in a day or two and get a second reading.

What are your thoughts? Is this thing ready to bottle? What reading should I be looking for and how much does it matter?

I appreciate your help!

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-27-2014, 12:12 AM   #2
IvanTheTerribrew
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 50 Times on 45 Posts

Hey there, what was your fermentation temp like? Honestly as long as it isn't lower than 65* I'd say if in 2 days it's still at 1020 it's probably done. Id bottle it. That's probably still a little higher than it was suppose to be but that happens sometimes it just means it will be a little fuller and sweeter than it meant to. Or it's right where it was suppose to be. Either way it will be beer! Cheers!

- ISM NRP

Old 03-27-2014, 12:18 AM   #3
stevehardt
Recipes 

Liked 26 Times on 24 Posts
Likes Given: 23

what was your OG? I'd make real sure your current gravity readings stay at 1.02 over at least a couple of straight days before I bottle. She might not be done after 11 days

Old 03-27-2014, 12:23 AM   #4
DxS12
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts