Kegconnection Complete Starter Kit and More Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > How to use Star San... too many bubbles!!!!!

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-15-2008, 11:48 PM   #1
chrishart7
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default How to use Star San... too many bubbles!!!!!

1. I know this is a total noob question, but how does everyone use Star San? On my first attempt using it, I got sooooo many bubbles as I filled my carboy. To sanitize my carboy, I first added the appropriate amount of star san and then I began to fill it with water. WOW, there were more bubbles than a bubble bath!!!!! Did I lose too much sanitizer? Do people fill the carboy with water first and then add the star san?

2. Also, after you make a batch of Star San, how long does it last? How do you know you need to make a new batch of it?

3. Also, does anybody leave their equipment soaking in Star San for days? I left some siphon tubing in my ale pail bucket filled with star san and 3 weeks later if felt slimy and cloudy? Should I get a new siphon tube?

Thanks for all of your help!

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-15-2008, 11:55 PM   #2
Sea
Green Flash IPA on tap
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by chrishart7 View Post
1. I know this is a total noob question, but how does everyone use Star San? On my first attempt using it, I got sooooo many bubbles as I filled my carboy. To sanitize my carboy, I first added the appropriate amount of star san and then I began to fill it with water. WOW, there were more bubbles than a bubble bath!!!!! Did I lose too much sanitizer? Do people fill the carboy with water first and then add the star san?

2. Also, after you make a batch of Star San, how long does it last? How do you know you need to make a new batch of it?