Kegconnection Complete Starter Kit and More Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > How relevant is airlock bubbling?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-16-2012, 09:48 PM   #1
mjrinkenbaugh
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default How relevant is airlock bubbling?

Hello everyone...

I'm fairly new to brewing my own beer and I've got a batch of beer that I started almost four weeks ago now. It's taken some time to ferment and I'm going to check the gravity again tonight to see if I'm ready to bottle. It started at 1.070 and last read (on Sunday) at 1.018. If it's still 1.018 tonight, then I will go ahead and bottle, but here's my question:

I'm still seeing a single bubble in the airlock every 5 minutes. Is that even worth considering as far as if it's ready to bottle or not? I know it could just be a slight fluctuation in temperature pushing air out. Does anybody else even watch their airlock for long enough to see how often they really get a bubble? Is a single bubble that occasional even worth considering with regard to whether or not I might be ready to bottle?

Thanks!

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-16-2012, 09:51 PM   #2
IffyG
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 60 Times on 49 Posts
Likes Given: 20

Airlocks don't mean much. A hydrometer will tell you all the info you need. I pretty much ignore mine aside from checking to make sure it hasn't dried out.

Old 03-16-2012, 09:52 PM   #3
snccoulter
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 45 Times on 30 Posts
Likes Given: 35

Completely, take your readings if it is the same for 3 days in a row you are set. or do what I do and leave it alone for a few weeks and I don't have to worry about it being done.

“Fairy tales don't tell children that dragons exist; children already know that dragons exist. Fairy tales tell children that dragons can be killed.”
― G.K. Chesterton
http://whatalesyou.webs.com/

Old 03-16-2012, 09:56 PM   #4
mjrinkenbaugh
Recipes