Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > How much is too much: Hydrometer readings taking my beer away!
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-25-2010, 06:37 PM   #11
BigB
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Shelby Twp, MI
Posts: 1,760
Liked 41 Times on 36 Posts
Likes Given: 41

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tamoore View Post
Pitch the correct amount of yeast.
Leave it alone for three weeks, minding the temp.
When you're ready to bottle/keg it, check it once. If you did everything right, it'll be done.
+1 To this.
__________________
I love the sound of an airlock bubbling in the morning. It sounds like.....VICTORY.

Quote:
Originally Posted by TxBrew
It's now degenerating into nu uh and uh huhs and it no longer serves a point.
BigB is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-25-2010, 06:39 PM   #12
ChshreCat
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
ChshreCat's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Camano Island, Washington
Posts: 11,299
Liked 461 Times on 367 Posts
Likes Given: 17

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brewbelly View Post
If I take a reading before primary and then 3 times after primary to check for completion...

That's about a half gallon of beer wasted!
4 hydrometer readings is taking a half gallon of beer?!? Get a smaller sample container and you won't need nearly as much beer. You can pick one up at your LHBS that's just big enough for the hydrometer to fit in it and not touch the sides. Then, when you take your sample, put the hydrometer in the tube first and add beer until it floats. No need to fill it to the top if it's going to float when it's only 1/4 full!
__________________

"Science + beer = good!"
-Adam Savage

ChshreCat is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-25-2010, 06:43 PM   #13
Gman2
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Denver
Posts: 51
Default

I use a turkey baster to fill up the thin hydromiter tube. with 3 to 4 readings you are not using more than 12 ounces at most. thats only 1 beer to make sure everything is ready. I think it is well worth it.

__________________
Gman2 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-25-2010, 06:51 PM   #14
Scimmia
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: QCA, Iowa
Posts: 959
Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts

Default

I use 100 ml for each sample, which is 3.38 oz. If you're taking 16 oz per sample, you need to look at your procedure.

__________________
Scimmia is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-25-2010, 07:06 PM   #15
azscoob
Here's the Beers!
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
azscoob's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Lake in the Hills, IL
Posts: 7,172
Liked 141 Times on 122 Posts
Likes Given: 128

Default

I use the hydro tube it came in, I have it marked to the point that it wont overflow when putting the hydrometer in, I take a sample and a reading, then put the tube with the sample back in the fermentation fridge, I figure there is yeast suspended in the sample just as in the carboy, so if it isnt done yet it will ferment further too, then I take my readings from that tube several more days to verify it is done, the first time I did this I cross checked against the carboy and had identical results, so now I only take one sample for OG when racking into carboy and one to check repeatedly for FG. YMMV but it works for me!

__________________

Shirts n Steins: Grain Reaper Brewing

azscoob is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-25-2010, 07:09 PM   #16
Zamial
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: WI
Posts: 3,183
Liked 168 Times on 149 Posts
Likes Given: 7

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gman2 View Post
I use a turkey baster to fill up the thin hydromiter tube. with 3 to 4 readings you are not using more than 12 ounces at most. thats only 1 beer to make sure everything is ready. I think it is well worth it.
QFT but I do not use the hydro tube. I got a glass vase. It looks like this: http://www.tias.com/13370/PictPage/1923144371.html (I only used that link for the pic, I am not and have no idea of the reputation of that site.) Needless to say you can find these in just about any goodwill or craft shop for 3 dollars or less. This allows me to get a nice reading, in an easy to clean, container that has a bit thicker walls than a test tube. I know that the world market carries these in store often as well for $2.99.
__________________
“I'm not drunk, I'm from Wisconsin.”
We have been out drinking your state since 1848!
Zamial is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-25-2010, 07:28 PM   #17
Sacdan
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
 
Sacdan's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 911
Liked 16 Times on 15 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

You can buy a refractometer on Ebay for about $30. I recommend buying one. It only takes a drop or two of your beer.

__________________
Sacdan is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-25-2010, 07:34 PM   #18
masonsjax
Professional Amateur
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
masonsjax's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Frederick, MD
Posts: 2,199
Liked 301 Times on 218 Posts
Likes Given: 296

Default

From what I've read, a refractometer is only accurate for pre-fermentation readings and that once alcohol is involved, it's much less reliable.

__________________

I aim to misbehave.

masonsjax is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-25-2010, 07:45 PM   #19
Silby8919
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Millers Creek, NC, Wilkes Co., N.C.
Posts: 16
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

I use a test bottle. When you first put the batch into the carboy, save a little out & put it in a bottle. I usually plug the bottle with a paper towel. If it gets infected it doesn't matter. The readings will still be acurate.

__________________
Silby8919 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-25-2010, 07:54 PM   #20
ChshreCat
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
ChshreCat's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Camano Island, Washington
Posts: 11,299
Liked 461 Times on 367 Posts
Likes Given: 17

Default

A satellite fermenter (holding off some of your wort to ferment in a smaller container) won't really tell you what's going on in your main fermenter. They can ferment at very different rates.

__________________

"Science + beer = good!"
-Adam Savage

ChshreCat is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply



Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Taking hydrometer readings dshaggy Beginners Beer Brewing Forum 8 03-04-2010 02:48 PM
Taking Hydrometer readings Bonzailopper Beginners Beer Brewing Forum 2 10-15-2009 03:21 AM
Risk of oxidation while taking hydrometer readings?? The Soft Underbelly Beginners Beer Brewing Forum 2 02-05-2008 09:58 PM
Taking Temp and Hydrometer readings brewawan Beginners Beer Brewing Forum 6 01-20-2007 03:46 AM
Newb Question on Taking Hydrometer Readings Sixpack Beginners Beer Brewing Forum 10 11-16-2006 08:52 PM