Kegconnection Complete Starter Kit and More Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > How to make a starter for a high gravity beer?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-28-2013, 03:04 PM   #1
PorterHoarder
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Likes Given: 1

Default How to make a starter for a high gravity beer?

Im brewing an American Barleywine with expected OG at 1.120. Due to the high gravity I could either pitch close to 5 packs of Wyeast ($45) or make a starter (which I've never done before). The Pitch-rate calculator I used said to pitch 2 packets in 5 liters of wort (1.040) or 1 pack in 12 liters. Does this sound right? It seems like a lot of starter wort. Say I pitched the one packet in 12 liters wort in my primary bucket. I wait 48 hours. Do I decant the wort off of the yeast? Is that really going to be enough yeast?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-28-2013, 04:58 PM   #2
duboman
Recipes 

Liked 452 Times on 421 Posts
Likes Given: 201

Quote:
Originally Posted by PorterHoarder
Im brewing an American Barleywine with expected OG at 1.120. Due to the high gravity I could either pitch close to 5 packs of Wyeast ($45) or make a starter (which I've never done before). The Pitch-rate calculator I used said to pitch 2 packets in 5 liters of wort (1.040) or 1 pack in 12 liters. Does this sound right? It seems like a lot of starter wort. Say I pitched the one packet in 12 liters wort in my primary bucket. I wait 48 hours. Do I decant the wort off of the yeast? Is that really going to be enough yeast?
For that large of starter, yes, decant. You do not want all that starter beer in your batch.

If you can crash the starter it will be easier to decant and yes, if you actively shake the starter frequently you should grow up to the proper cell count

The Commune Brewing Company-Perfecting the "art" of beer since 2010

Old 04-28-2013, 05:05 PM   #3
jmcquesten
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Recipes 

Liked 28 Times on 22 Posts

Quote: