Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway - Enter Now!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > How long will Bottles stay sterilised ?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-12-2008, 12:24 AM   #1
JNJC
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default How long will Bottles stay sterilised ?

Hi Folks,

I am pretty new to Home brewing. What I find is that by the time I get home from work and do the fatherly thing there is not much time left for looking after the really important things in life like my home brew.

I find the process of sterilising the bottles, priming and bottling on in one night is a bit of a push. What I am wondering is it Ok to sterilise the bottles some time in advance of actually bottling ?

What I was hoping to be able to do was a break the process into two stages. Sterilise and rinse when I know the beer is almost ready to go and then a day or two later bottle it ?

Anybody got any tips for speeding up the bottling process ?

TIA,
JC

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-12-2008, 12:27 AM   #2
Professor Frink

Recipes 

Liked 13 Times on 13 Posts

If you cover the bottles with aluminum foil, they'll stay sanitized indefinitely.

On tap:Amber Ale
Milk Stout

Lagering:

http://www.lazydogbrewery.com

Old 02-12-2008, 12:28 AM   #3
9/9
Collembola!
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Look into the oven method. Here is one description:

http://www.boomchugalug.com/baking_bottles.htm

From what I have read here there is a variety of temp/time combinations people use. There was a thread not too long ago that mentioned it.

Primary: empty
Secondary: AHB Dry Mead (17)
Bottled: EdWort's Apfelwein (15), Vienna - Cascade SMaSH (19)
Drinking:MO-Amarillo SMaSH (14), BierMucher's Black Pearl Porter (13), Munich-NB SMaSH (16), Lemon Summer Blonde (18)
Planning: Belgian Brown (20)

Old 02-12-2008, 12:55 AM   #4
Poindexter

Recipes 

Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts