Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > How long should I keep my IPA in the primary?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-08-2012, 06:04 PM   #1
HaNcOcK25
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default How long should I keep my IPA in the primary?

Hey guys,

I just brewed an IPA on New Years day (a week ago from today) How long should I keep it in the primary before moving it to the secondary? Should I use a car boy or another 5g bucket? Also, when should I dry hop it and how long for? I'm pretty new at this, any info will help! Thanks again

Cheers

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-08-2012, 06:10 PM   #2
djfriesen
Recipes 

Liked 26 Times on 24 Posts
Likes Given: 6

I usually shoot for a 3 week primary for my IPAs. I don't use a secondary though. I dry hop in my primary, for 7-10 days (after primary is finished), and then cold crash for a week. So, boil to bottle on my IPAs is usually 5 weeks or so.

If you prefer to secondary, there isn't a set answer. Either glass or plastic is acceptable, as it comes down to personal preference. I use carboys right now, but will be switching to plastic buckets soon, as I find dry hopping in the neck of the carboy a PITA.

Old 01-08-2012, 06:13 PM   #3
lutherslagers
Recipes 

Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 5

When you are absolutely sure there is no more fermentation going on, viz. the bubbles in the airlock have ceased, you can move to the secondary. Watch your airlock for a solid minute or two and made sure they're done. My preference is to let it sit another day or two after I'm confident fermentation is complete.