Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Winners Re-Re-Drawn - 24 hours to Claim!

Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > How long is safe for secondary?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-16-2012, 04:38 PM   #1
OhCrap
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 44 Times on 33 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Howya all doing!
Apologies in advance for the long waffle!!
I've read most of the arguments for and against secondary. My problem is whether to do it or not. As a complete noob I can't wait to brew more. I have 42 bottles of blonde conditioning at 70f for the last 2 weeks. Thinking that they would be ready for tomorrow (paddy's day party) I decided to brew a golden ale extract, which is now in primary 7 days. Now by instructions I should be able to bottle tomorrow, by reading here I should leave it at least 7 more days. So my problem is I have no bottles to fill !! I want to get flip tops but can't get to the city to collect until 12th April (4 wks away) I currently have pet bottles. How long can I get away with in primary, then how long in secondary? Or do I bite the bullet and get more pet bottles?

Sorry if this is a stupid question but I really want to get the flip tops and not waste money on more pet bottles!!

3 is enough &
4 ISN'T half enough

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-16-2012, 04:41 PM   #2
Revvy
Post Hoc Ergo Propter Hoc
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 2774 Times on 1659 Posts
Likes Given: 3486

A secondary's main purpose it to AGE and condition beer, so the length of time one leaves a beer in secondary is irrevelent. You can leave it as long as you want to. I've got a beer that will have been in a tertiary for at least 2 years before I bottle it.

Like my snazzy new avatar? Get Sons of Zymurgy swag, here, and brew with the best.