New Giveaway - Wort Monster Conical Fermenter!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > How long did it take you until you made a awesome batch?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-16-2012, 11:35 PM   #1
chungking
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 10 Times on 9 Posts

Just tasted my British style pale ale, which is the 8-9th batch I have ever made, which sat in primary for 3 weeks, then bottled for 2 weeks. It was midwests Big Ben pale ale extract kit.

It tastes weird. Something is off about it. I'm not good at pinpointing tastes or flavors, unless its a smack in the face. The smell is unappealing too. It's just not good. I'm starting to lose faith. Some of my batches have been good, most moderate ie drinkable, but none have tasted close to commercial quality.
How long until you get it right? I tried a lot of things differently according to what I have read on here, but it seems worse. I'm starting to think my equipment might be tainted. Although this batch i used a bunch of starsan thinking I'd be safer.

About the only thing I tasted tonight was disappointment

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-16-2012, 11:48 PM   #2
dadshomebrewing
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Recipes 

Liked 101 Times on 69 Posts
Likes Given: 13

I'm on batch 8, and I'm still going for drinkable... Never mind awesome

Interested to see where this goes... And yes, it is a little annoying

Old 11-16-2012, 11:51 PM   #3
paulster2626
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 295 Times on 194 Posts
Likes Given: 446

My first 3 batches were decent beer. My 4th was a RyePA, dry hopped, from an extract kit, and was amazing.

If you're getting weird off-flavours that you just can't figure out, I would suspect your kit was old and had some stale extract. Try to get some fresher stuff if you can next time. Could be something else though.

Old 11-16-2012, 11:57 PM   #4
dozer5454
Recipes 

Liked 11 Times on 11 Posts
Likes Given: 13