Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > How long...

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-03-2012, 06:24 PM   #21
MMJfan
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 42 Times on 38 Posts
Likes Given: 43

I just started brewing less than a month ago. I brewed 3 batches in the first 3 weeks after I got my equipment and I was loving brewing every weekend. Problem is, we're going on vaca in a week and a half so I've had to put my brewing on hold until after vaca. I've already bottled my first brew and my 2nd and 3rd batches are going to be bottled this week leaving me with no more brewing activities until after vaca...

I am planning on picking up where I left off though on that first week after vaca and get those fermenting buckets full of beer once again!

Last edited by MMJfan; 06-03-2012 at 06:26 PM.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-03-2012, 06:52 PM   #22
NordeastBrewer77
NBA Playa
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 7 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 1075 Times on 783 Posts
Likes Given: 3977

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stauffbier View Post
I feel your pain! I hadn't brewed for 6 weeks up until last Memorial weekend. I was having issues keeping my swamp coolers cool enough. I got a huge ice chest that is now maintaining temps very good, and it holds 2 fermenters. So I brewed a party-gyle last weekend so I could get 10 gallons in there. I also have some saison yeast on the way, so I can get another batch going without a swamp cooler.

As far as the OP's question goes, my hoppy beers seem to fade at about 8-10 weeks...
You were having trouble keeping your coolers cool? I seem to remember a certain someone with a mountain of ice bags in one of his swamp coolers.... apparently lagering some sorta something.... know anyone like that?! But.... it sounds like you're even better off now. Glad to see ya back brewing some beer!

Quote:
Originally Posted by rifraf View Post