Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Last Sponsor Giveaway of the Year!

Come Enter the BrewDeals/FastFerment Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > How to increase Alcohol Content in beer?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-05-2007, 04:52 AM   #1
lencombs
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default How to increase Alcohol Content in beer?

Total noob, started with a mr. beer kit couple years ago, but wife just gave me a "deluxe" brewers best home brew kit. I'm starting simple with brewers best pre-packaged recipe kits, rabbit pellet hops, can malts etc. Have 1 batch fermenting now, and another kit ready to boil.

My question is this...how do I kick the alcohol content up a couple percentage points and make an extra stout brew for my third batch? yet keep the flavor palatable and not going into hard cider taste range.

yeast feeds on the sugar and by-product is alcohol, so sweeten up the wort will give the yeast more food, and do i need more yeast to eat the additional sugars? does fermenation temp change %alcohol content?

basically I want my third batch to be extra stout, around 6-6.5% alcohol, but not taste like hard cider. is that possible? if not what is reasonable.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-05-2007, 04:55 AM   #2
talleymonster

Recipes 

Liked 16 Times on 7 Posts

I might be wrong on the amounts here, but I think that you get roughtly a 1% ABV increase for every pound of fermentable sugar that you add to the wort.

Am I right guys?

Old 10-05-2007, 05:01 AM   #3
Iordz
Recipes 

Liked 3 Times on 2 Posts