Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > How do you partial mash canned pumpkin?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-27-2011, 03:54 AM   #1
ENS
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 5

Default How do you partial mash canned pumpkin?

I've never partial mashed, but I want to make a pumpkin ale this weekend. I've been searching, but can't seem to find a good description on how to do it. I am not sure if I have the gear. I have two kettles, one 3 gallons and he other 5 gallons. No spigots. I usuall use my 5 gallon for the boil. I do not have a mash tun.

thanks!

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-27-2011, 04:02 AM   #2
Brew_4iT
Recipes 

Liked 6 Times on 6 Posts

I've never done it before, but by my knowledge I would just add it towards the end of the boil last 10 minutes so you don't cook away all the goodness, and also good for worry of sanitation. Although 5 minutes might even be better with less worry if it comes from a can. But make sure there are no preservatives in it. I wonder if anyones ever tried dryhopping with actual carved pumpkin slices and how that would come out?

"Good people drink good beer" -- Hunter S. Thompson

“The original American patriots were those individuals brave enough to resist with force the oppressive power of King George...Patriotism is more closely linked to dissent than it is to conformity and a blind desire for safety and security.”
― Ron Paul

Old 07-27-2011, 04:22 AM   #3
PHillBrewCo
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by ENS View Post
I've never partial mashed, but I want to make a pumpkin ale this weekend. I've been searching, but can't seem to find a good description on how to do it. I am not sure if I have the gear. I have two kettles, one 3 gallons and he other 5 gallons. No spigots. I usuall use my 5 gallon for the boil. I do not have a mash tun.

thanks!