New Giveaway - Wort Monster Conical Fermenter!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > How do you lower your costs of brewing?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-30-2011, 06:07 PM   #1
agurkas
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default How do you lower your costs of brewing?

So every 3 weeks or so I make a new beer. Though I have graduated to partial-mash (which I am still learning) the costs with my favorite brand of yeast White Labs is somewhere around $50 per 5Gal batch. How do you lower your costs?

Though I have started saving small portion of yeast from the starter, I don't have a "library" of bunch of yeast just yet. So can't save much there.

I am looking at possibly getting some hopps in larger quantity, but I need to find what is most common in my Belgians I like (I am into heffes, porters, strong ales, and heavy aromatic hopp pales). What would you suggest I stock up on to lower my costs?

Any other way I can reduce my costs per batch?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-30-2011, 06:10 PM   #2
Hammy71
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 377 Times on 296 Posts
Likes Given: 537

All grain is cheaper as far as supplies. Course...the 'upgrading' never seems to stop. I've convinced my SWMBO that it's a hobby, not necessarily a way to save cash.

Old 01-30-2011, 06:11 PM   #3
waldoar15
Recipes 

Liked 7 Times on 6 Posts

Wash yeast, bulk hops and bulk grain.

Old 01-30-2011, 06:13 PM   #4
agurkas
Recipes 

I am just not ready for all grain yet. I am still learning how to sparge, plus my kitchen is relatively small, so extended setup is just not in the books.

Old 01-30-2011, 06:14 PM   #5
sensibull
Recipes 

Liked 7 Times on 7 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by waldoar15 View Post
Wash yeast, bulk hops and bulk grain.
That about sums it up. Using tap water is the only other thing I can think of.

Old 01-30-2011, 06:14 PM   #6
Boondoggie
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts