Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Winners Re-Re-Re-Re-Drawn - 24 hours to Claim!

Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > How to add liquid extract

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-03-2011, 06:14 AM   #1
BrewinBotanist
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default How to add liquid extract

Hey

Sorry for the total newb question, but I cant find it anywhere on here, either no one has asked this question here before, or I cant find the right keywords to put in search.

My question relates to adding the liquid extract. The guy at my LHBS told me to add half of it in the beginning, and half of it with the 15min hops. I should have asked him WHY I dont just put it all in at once, but I didnt and now i'm wondering. A friend said it's so it wont 'taste like extract', but I dont know what that means.

I've recently received a couple kits from austin homebrew, and the instructions dont include splitting up the extract additions. I'm trying to decide if I should just put it all in at once, or split it into two.

Does anyone know what i'm talking about? how do you add your liquid extract, all at once or split into two?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-03-2011, 06:22 AM   #2
jbrookeiv
Beer Review Dude
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 1 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 16 Times on 16 Posts
Likes Given: 4

I add all my extract at the 15 minute until Flameout mark. Supposedly, adding it later will keep the color lighter since the extract sugars won't caramelize during the boil. It also helps prevent boilovers, which is a plus.

My Beer Review Blog: Beer Review Dude
My Craft Beer Social Network: Craft Beer Network

Quote:
Originally Posted by Homebrewtastic View Post
I think a more pertinent question is where is AB and Miller Coors getting all of their horse urine?
Primary: Belgian Pale Ale w. Brett | Saison | Mango Pulp Wine | Graff, 10 gal