New Giveaway - Wort Monster Conical Fermenter!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Hoppy dark beer?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-23-2011, 05:55 AM   #1
bjl110
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts

Default Hoppy dark beer?

I'm a noob to brewing, but not to drinkin . However, I have found maybe only a handful of IPA style hoppy (or maybe a little less hoppy) darker beers (save CDAs). Similarly I don't see many recipes for them here. Is there a particular reason for this? Is it hard to make the heavier malts and hops blend well or something?

If I were to try to make a hoppy dark beer is it as easy as dry hoping a good recipe? Could I still use hops with high AAUs?

Cheers

BTW: This site rocks! You all have been invaluable to me. I'm sure that I'll further annoy you with many questions.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-23-2011, 06:14 AM   #2
Stout-n-Braggot
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Some Russian Imperial Stouts approach 100 IBUs, but the lack of flavor or aroma hops in those recipes is pretty universal. I made an oatmeal stout once that had a lot of Cascade hop character in the flavor and aroma, and it was quite pleasant, but unfortunately that was all but gone by the time the beer itself fuly matured.
Also, the characteristic sweet nuttiness of many darker grains does not generally lend itself to certain flavor and aroma hops (most of the time resinous, citrusy, or piney hops are to be avoided). There is also a pre-existing bitterness from many darker roasted grains that fulfills some of the job taken by hops in other styles.
Dark beers with a strong hop presence are certainly possible, but not easy, in part due to the slightly longer ageing times and the nature of many darker malts and grains IMO.

Old 05-23-2011, 01:03 PM   #3
theonetrueruss
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 37 Times on 23 Posts