Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Winners Re-Re-Drawn - 24 hours to Claim!

Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Help! Infection, or normal biofilm?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-06-2011, 06:29 AM   #1
Schnitzengiggle
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 29 Times on 22 Posts
Likes Given: 16

Default Help! Infection, or normal biofilm?

I have been brewing for almost 3 years, and AG for over 2 of those 3, but I recently racked 5 gallons of a split Kolsch batch to keg, and the fermenter had a nasty looking biofilm in it reminiscent of an infection. Here it is in all of it's glory:

img_3103.jpg

I didn't notice a film ontop of the beer, nor any type of pellicle in the beer whe I racked.

This was a split batch, and the first 5 gallons was racked to geg over a month ago, while this one sat in the fermentation chamber for another month or so. Unfortunately, I found a ass-load of black mold in the ferm chamber when pulling this batch out, and have since them cloroxed the hell out of it (guess I need some Eva-Dry), any ho, I dunno if that could be part of the problem, if it is a problem.

I recently started using clear plastic carboys opposed to pails, so I simply may not have noticed any film beforehand. any advice, or explanations would be grateful.

I sampled the beer, and to me there isn't any sour twang, or nasty flavors, but my palette is far from refined.

Comments, ar surely welcome

Cheers!

Okham's Razor - simplest explanation is usually the correct one.

My DIY Kegerator - My DIY Fermentation Chamber - My DIY Portable Pump Box

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-06-2011, 06:37 AM   #2
barroomhero1234
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

looks off. Looks like my brett starter. If its good right now throw and party and drink it before it gets real funky!

Primary 1: Canadian Pale Ale
Primary 2: American Stout
Primary 3: Empty
Primary 4: Empty