Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Last Sponsor Giveaway of the Year!

Come Enter the BrewDeals/FastFerment Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Help with fruit flavors!

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-28-2010, 12:03 AM   #1
pkincaid
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 1 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 96 Times on 45 Posts
Likes Given: 85

Default Help with fruit flavors!

Hey guys! I am a newbie to this and I charged in head first. I'm having a great time so far, but I have a question about fruit flavors. I made a Strawberry Hefeweizen with frozen strawberries and strawberry juice, and it came out very subtle and nice, BUT I'd like to make something with a stronger essence of fruit. Now, being a pastry chef, I have lots of fruit extracts that are for flavoring chocolate and candies. It only takes a couple drops of these to saturate whatever you're making with its flavor. Do you think this is something I could use in my brew? Sparingly of course. Also does anyone think it's a bad idea to add a drop to each bottle to really add a bang to the flavor profile? Always thinking.... Thanks in advance!

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-28-2010, 12:10 AM   #2
maxamuus
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 64 Times on 53 Posts
Likes Given: 34

You can buy a bunch of different flavorings http://www.brewmasterswarehouse.com/...ves/flavorings. I would guess they are the same kind of flavorings for food?

Considering they call for 2 oz for 5 gallons of beer i would think a drop in a bottle would be WAY over powering. But you could always make a bottle and give it a try. That is why home brewing is so fun you can try your own thing.

Old 08-28-2010, 12:12 AM   #3
pkincaid
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Is it ok to add the flavoring during the secondary? Or just before bottling? The Raspberry Wheat and the Strawberry Hefe I made I added the fruit during the boil.

Secondary 2: Empty
Bottled:Rootbeer, apple cider, sweet mead