The Great Bottle Opener Giveaway

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > help diagnosing a problem.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-27-2012, 11:51 PM   #1
woody34
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 19 Times on 11 Posts

Default help diagnosing a problem.

I bottled a northern brewer extract kit 2 weeks ago, caribou slobber. I've had 2 so far and they were perfect. Carbed good tasted good looked good. The 3rd bottle I poured looked like fresh apple cider. It was cloudy and had zero carbonation. Didn't taste bad and didn't have any foul odor. Is it possible the bottle cap wasnt sealed or something? Also, My helper on bottling day tipped a full bottle, spilling half. I simply refilled it and kept going. Is it possible that spilled bottle got shaken up and oxidized? I'm still rather new to brewing and this is my first bottle so far that had a problem. Any thoughts?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-28-2012, 12:07 AM   #2
CBXBob
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Recipes 

Liked 74 Times on 47 Posts
Likes Given: 152

Try another bottle? I'm going to go with bad bottle cap seal. But if they are all like that, who knows??? My Caribou Slobber got better with age, at about 6 weeks in the bottle the flavor was great. I bottled on 5-4-12. Just popped one now, sip, good!

Old 07-28-2012, 12:08 AM   #3
KISS Brew
Recipes 

Liked 49 Times on 34 Posts
Likes Given: 11

If your priming sugar was mixed at all, it sounds like that particular bottle just didn't get sealed.

How did you add your priming sugar?

Bottled:
Hoptoberfest IPA, Oktoberfest Ale, Blonde Ale, Scottish Ale, Oatmeal Stout, Edwort's Apfelwein, Janet's Brown Ale, Irish Red Ale, Strawberry Wheat, ESB, Belgian Pale Ale

KISS Brew Homebrewing Blog

Most recent post: Beyond the Pale Ale Recipe

Old 07-28-2012, 12:46 AM   #4
woody34
Recipes