Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Last Sponsor Giveaway of the Year!

Come Enter the BrewDeals/FastFerment Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Hard Cider Issue

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-24-2014, 04:46 AM   #1
Marzdor
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Hard Cider Issue

Okay so this was my first attempt at making anything and i am a complete beginner.

This is what i did took one gallon of apple juice pored 2 cups out added 2 cups brown sugar and a pack of bread yeast.

Then i let it sit for 19 days and bottled it. After i bottled it i put it in the fridge this was Tuesday afternoon. It sat over night then on Wednesday i opened one of the bottles and it was good yet when we tired it today it was realy bad and i am not sure why.

I would really like to find out so i don't mess up the same way with a batch of Mead that i am trying.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-24-2014, 05:05 AM   #2
mohawk
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default Hard Cider Issue

Last time I used brown sugar I had the same experience,brown sugar is sweet, but also has flavour, once the yeast eat all the sweet, that brown sugar flavour is horrible, table sugar or corn sugar have no or little flavour but still produce alcohol, making your cider dry, if you want brown sugar flavour you should add it after fermentation, use corn sugar instead

Old 01-24-2014, 05:11 AM   #3
helibrewer
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 1 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 246 Times on 216 Posts
Likes Given: 62

Use WLP002 or CY1118 yeast, not bread yeast.

Primary:
Brite Tank/Lagering:
Kegged: Hefeweizen, Chocolate Hazelnut Porter, Kumquat Saison, Tart Cherry Cider, Belgian Tripel, Maibock Bock, Ommegang Abbey Ale Clone, Belgian Golden Strong, German Pils (WLP830)
Bottled: Belgian Quad (Grand Reserve), Derangement (Belgian Dark Strong)
On Deck:
My Site: www.restlesscellars.com
DSorenson Likes This 
Old 01-24-2014, 05:18 AM   #4
mohawk
Recipes