Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway - Enter Now!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Gravity reading before adding top off water

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old Yesterday, 12:42 PM   #1
milesbishop
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Gravity reading before adding top off water

Hi, I am new to brewing and took a seminar on extract brewing. The instructor had suggested taking a reading before adding the top off water (8L). It was a 5 gallon batch and my reading was 1.067 and the target was anywhere from 1.040 - 1.050. Can anyone tell me what my true gravity should have been after adding the water? I know now this was not the best idea. I am brewing an Oatmeal Stout.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old Yesterday, 12:50 PM   #2
duboman
Recipes 

Liked 461 Times on 428 Posts
Likes Given: 207

Not without a recipe:
Was the reading before or after the top off water, not clear from your question. It was probably recommended so you can calculate exactly how much top off water you would add to meet the expected gravity of the recipe after diluting with said water.

Keep in mind when brewing extract with top off water it is very difficult to get a complete mix of top off water and wort so most readings will either be slightly higher or lower depending on how well you can mix the two volumes.

Also keep in mind that when brewing extract your gravity will always be what the recipe states as long as you meet the exact final volume. This is because extract has a fixed gravity contribution. If the expected gravity was to be what you stated then that is what it should be. Your reading is most likely high because you got a poor mix and read the more dense wort versus a complete mix.

The Commune Brewing Company-Perfecting the "art" of beer since 2010

Old Yesterday, 01:13 PM   #3
jekeane
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Recipes 

Liked 90 Times on 62 Posts
Likes Given: 36